Mario Mayhem Forums
Anyone got any ideas for teaching art to year 8's? - Printable Version

+- Mario Mayhem Forums (http://www.mariomayhem.com/forum)
+-- Forum: General (/forumdisplay.php?fid=1)
+--- Forum: General Chat (/forumdisplay.php?fid=3)
+--- Thread: Anyone got any ideas for teaching art to year 8's? (/showthread.php?tid=281)

Anyone got any ideas for teaching art to year 8's? - Shadow - 07-28-2008 02:17 PM

This is an unsual post, I know. I'm currently studying a double degree at uni in visual arts and education (teaching) and next week we have to go to a local highschool and take a half-hour lesson with a small group of students.

The teaching group i'm in consists of me and two of my friends and we've decided to do a lesson on art since were the only education students in our class studying art as well.

our idea at the moment is we would like to teach a group of year 8 students about the 7 art elements, which are:

line
tone
shape (2d object)
space
colour
texture
and form (3d object)

were trying to come up with something fun to do with these topics, like, a game or something, like say, matching the words up to what they mean, but I cant really think of anything interesting... would be cool to do some sort of practical exercise...

anyways... does anyone have any sort of ideas? I don't really expect you to, but anything would be helpful!

RE: Anyone got any ideas for teaching art to year 8's? - Mario-Man - 07-29-2008 01:19 AM

Ahhh, art. Shadow you would be good a teaching them that! Big Grin Wink
They could do a few lines about what each mean and maybey draw a picture containing at least 3 of those things.
Thats all I know really. Sounds fun Shadow and I can't think of a better job for you.

RE: Anyone got any ideas for teaching art to year 8's? - me_just_in - 07-29-2008 05:50 AM